I'm stumped

Hello everyone! It's very nice to "meet" you all. I just started playing...and I created this account specifically to ask one question.

I keep getting trade requests where it will say "so-and-so is requesting a trade" and I'll get a little timed window that gives me only several seconds to decide what to do. Here's the problem: I cannot see which pokemon are being offered and which of my pokemon the player is trying to trade for. I can't see any information about the actual trade offer. Just a command to accept or reject a trade in a couple seconds with no information whatsoever.

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? How am I supposed to see these trades? What am I supposed to click when the dialogue box pops up? How do I get information about (like the IVs of) the pokemon being offered? I graduated college with great grades but this game has legit outsmarted me lol.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'll be thrilled if I can figure out how to actually do a trade. As a side question, can I generally trust other users on here (I'm sure it depends on the user to an extent), such that I could, for instance, trade someone my machoke (that I don't have yet) and trust that that person will return the machamp to me after it evolves? Or will someone say s/he is going to trade back my pokemon and then not give it back?

Thanks again! Happy Saturday!

Hey thanks for the response! So you're saying that until I hit "accept trade"...I can't see what the trade offer is? So after I "accept trade" then, I will be taken to a screen where I will have to option to accept or reject the actual trade? Will I be able to see all the operative information about the pokemon being traded? Like moves and IVs and stuff?

Thanks again for the information. I would not have gotten that.

Just now, occamsrazor said: